Alchemy is a dramatic scene written for Caroline Shaw (mezzo-soprano), Virginia Warnken (mezzo-soprano), and Avery Griffin (tenor), all singers from the American vocal octet, Roomful of Teeth. It was premiered in the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University on 26 February 2013. The majority of the text is drawn from “The Vision of Sir George Ripley, Canon of Bridlington,” a poem in Ripley’s The Compound of Alchemy (1591). There are also extracts from The Universal Dreamer (1837), a Victorian guide to the interpretation of dreams, as well as dialogue by the composer.

Black Rapids

This string quartet was commissioned by the Silo Collective. It was premiered by the Enigma Quartet on 27 November 2014, as part of Musica Viva's Huntington Estate Music Festival

The Brew

The Brew is a children’s opera commissioned by Sydney Grammar St Ives Preparatory School. It was premiered on 14 August 2014. The libretto was written by the composer, and features a dozen principals and seven choruses, accompanied by an orchestra.

The Collatz Variations

The Collatz Variations was commissioned by the Silo Collective and premiered by the Australian Youth Orchestra Brass Quintet on 9 August 2012. It subsequently shared third prize in the Franz Schubert Conservatory’s International Composition Competition for 2012, and was performed in Grafenegg (Austria) as part of the AYO’s 2013 European Tour.


Contact was commissioned by the Sydney Youth Orchestras Contemporary Music Fund. The Sydney Youth Orchestra premiered the work on 18 August 2013, under the baton of Richard Gill. (Click here for artsHub's review.) The work is written in four movements: “Burned,” “Squeezed,” “Tickled,” and “Kissed.”


Dunsinane is a short symphonic work commissioned by the Australian Youth Orchestra. It was premiered on 18 January 2014 at National Music Camp, under the baton of Alexandre Bloch. The work is scored for piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B flat, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in B flat, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, side drum, tenor drum, bass drum, tam-tam, tubular bells, harp, and strings.


Hysteria was a winning entry in the Sydney Symphony’s “Sinfonietta Composition Project,” and was performed in a workshop led by Richard Gill. The work is scored for mezzo-soprano and chamber orchestra, and the text is by T.S. Eliot.

Introduction and Rondo

Introduction and Rondo was commissioned by Patma Family Music Concerts, and written for an audience of toddlers. Scored for double woodwind, two French horns, timpani and strings, the work had its first performance in Melbourne, Australia on 3 April 2011. It was subsequently performed by the Sydney Symphony Sinfonia on 12 November 2012 (click here for Peter McCallum's review), and will feature in the Sydney Symphony Orchestra's Education Program for 2014. 

Night Journey

Night Journey is a work for mixed chorus and piano, with text by American poet Theodore Roethke. It was written for the choir at Hotchkiss Summer Portals. Simon Carrington conducted the premiere at the Hotchkiss School on 12 July 2009, and the work has received subsequent performances from the Worcester Chorus, the CONCORA ensemble, and the Dessoff Choirs.

Pebbles and Stuff

Pebbles and Stuff was a winning entry in the Sydney Symphony’s “Sinfonietta Composition Project,” and was performed in a workshop led by Richard Gill. The work was originally scored for a septet, but was re-orchestrated for the Sydney Symphony Sinfonia, who performed it first on 9 February 2009, and again on 22 August 2012.

Prelude and Fugue

Prelude and Fugue was written for Zubin Kanga, who premiered the work on 18 November 2011 alongside the music of six other composers associated with Sydney Grammar School.

Sandy: the Musical

Sandy: the Musical was written in collaboration with Hugh Sturgess for Sydney Grammar School, and received two sold-out performances on 24 and 26 November 2008. Based on the persona of fitness trainer Rob Rowland-Smith, the musical features seven characters and a three-piece band, and runs for around an hour.

Sonata for Byron

Sonata for Byron is a string quartet written for the chamber music program at Hotchkiss Summer Portals. It was premiered on 15 July 2010.


Tango was commissioned by the Worcester Chorus, who premiered the work on 3 June 2011. (Click here for a review.) The CONCORA ensemble also performed Tango in their 2016 program "First Editions." It is written for mixed chorus and piano.

The Tell-Tale Heart

This adaptation of Edgar Allan Poe's famous short story was written for a single speaker and thirteen-piece string orchestra. The production played at Yale University on 25-28 February 2015. A full cast and crew list can be found here.

The Wind in the Hemlock

The Wind in the Hemlock was premiered in the Sydney Symphony Sinfonia’s Discovery program on 27 April 2010. It is scored for double woodwind, two French horns, two trumpets, two trombones, one bass trombone, percussion, mezzo-soprano and strings. The text, which depicts a woman's struggle against her own mortality, was written by Sara Teasdale in 1920 as the final poem in her collection, Flame and Shadow. 

Email | Facebook | Soundcloud | Twitter